Me – But Not Me

IMG_2558

This girl may look like her dad, and a lot like her nana, but she is me.  Oh yes – she is me.  So like me, but without Art.  She is full of attitude, loud, self assured, bossy, forthright, stubborn, driven, cheeky, social, obsessed in books, and exceptionally busy.

IMG_2566

But there is one major difference between her and I.  And, it is a very distinct line drawn in the sand.  She is physically gifted.  I don’t mean to wear rose coloured glasses, but there is a physical strength to this girl, a co-ordination, a love of sport and activity – her legs are so strong and her feet massive.  There is no element of clumsiness with this one.  She takes to her scooter every day without fear – and she is not even two years old.

IMG_2565

Lately I have being wondering if this is what I would have been like – or be like now – without Art.  Would I have this girl’s physical strength and drive if I wasn’t beaten down every day of my life?  Is she really me packaged into a new bundle?  If so, I’m very excited to see what will become of her physical strength and mental determination.  I’m excited about seeing a version of me, without Art.

7 thoughts on “Me – But Not Me

  1. Oh what a sweetheart. Gosh she has grown. She is so much like you and has your strength. You may live with pain but you are a very strong and coordinated person too!
    Xoxo

  2. Hi Shan, what a darling little girl. I am glad she does not have Art to contend with. I am a mom to 3 boys and have endured RA since my first son was born. I live vicariously through their athletic antics, I instigate them so they run circles around me and I thank God everyday they don’t have RA either. I used to be a tomboy and more athletic than princess. I marvel at the coordination and what these boys can do. I’ve subscribed to your blog and look forward to reading more of your posts. Take care, Tanya.

Leave a Reply

